National Determination Standards

The Government recognizes the importance of National standards to ensure the delivery of quality goods and services to the people. The existing legislation and regulations will be reviewed and new ones developed to internationally acceptable standards. All goods and services procured, and development initiatives implemented, under the MTDP IV will comply with their respective National standards.

Health Services Standards

The provision of health services must be of the highest standard to protect the health of the people. Apart from infrastructure design standards, all medical standards are to be applied in the following areas:

i) Medical drugs and equipment procured must be certified by the National Pharmaceutical Board and the Medical Board;

ii) All medical and health officers (nationals and expatriates) are required to meet the accreditation and certification standards to practice in any medical fields, as stipulated in the Medical Registration (Amendment) Act 2021; and

iii) Private hospitals and clinics must meet all standards as required under the Medical

Registration (Amendment) Act 2021.

Education Service Standards

The Education (Amendment) Act 2020, Higher Education Act 1983, the Teaching Services Act

1988 and other laws stipulate the standard and quality of education services. These standards will be enforced to achieve the following:

i) Quality Teacher Training and Accreditation;

ii) Curriculum and extra-curricular development quality and standards;

iii) Quality of the education facilities; and

iv) Private providers of educational services to be properly screened and tested to ensure they meet the expected national standards and requirements.

Food and Beverage Service Standards

The quality of all food and beverage produced, imported and consumed in the country must be of acceptable and approved standards. The Government will strictly enforce these standards to safeguard and protect the health of the people.

Housing and Building Construction Standards

The Building Act 1971 and the Physical Planning Act 1989 regulate and control all the building and construction developments and zoning in the country, respectively. The Government will enforce compliance with the standards and adopt new building codes and zoning designs. In order to achieve this, the following will be implemented:

i) Standardise and modernise designs for public and institutional housing;

ii) Effective regulation of the real estate industry;

iii) Adopt better physical planning designs for cities, urban, rural towns and District growth centers’; and

iv) Registration of all importers of building and construction materials.

Civil Works and Bridges Construction

The design standards of roads and bridges for construction and maintenance must comply with the Transport Infrastructure Act 2010 and National Maintenance Act 1971. The Government recognizes the need to review these legislations and the regulations to improve classifications, design standards, compliance and enforcement.

The supervision, inspection, and audits of the construction must be independently carried out.

Independent assessments to strengthen infrastructure standards regarding the minimum and maximum cost ranges, by types, and design specifications will be required. These standards will be adopted by the Government. Annex 4 provides examples.

Public Utilities Standards

Public utilities are governed by their respective legislation and regulations. The Government will review the legislation and regulations to improve the quality of their services. The relevant legislations are:

i) National Energy Authority Act 2016;

ii) Electricity Industry Act 2002;

iii) Telecommunications Act 1996;

iv) NICTA Act 2000; and

v) National Water Supply and Sanitation Act (Amendment)1986.

Sub-National Minimum Service Standards

The Minimum Service Standards (MSS)  for service delivery at the three levels of Government are part of the Service Delivery Framework (SDF) that provides the guide for services to be delivered from the wards up to the National level.

MSS include basic primary health care, primary education, clean and safe drinking water, sanitation, decent housing, access to better connectivity in transport, communication and electricity, and provisions of banking services and commerce.

It is the first time that MSS have been incorporated in the MTDPs. Table C.1.1 in Part C provides the MSS by the SPA classification to be delivered through the Provincial and District development plans.

© 2024 Medium Term Development Plan IV 2023-2027 — Developed by DICT

Initiative of DNPMUp ↑